KM-The Catcher in the Rye – J.D. Salinger

Image

Title: The Catcher in the Rye

Author: J.D. Salinger

Series: No

Category: Drama / Fiction / Literary Classic

Length:  224 pages

My Rating: 10/10

“If you really want to hear about it, the first thing you’ll probably want to know is where I was born and what my lousy childhood was like, and how my parents were occupied and all before they had me, and all that David Copperfield kind of crap, but I don’t feel like going into it, if you want to know the truth. In the first place, that stuff bores me, and in the second place, my parents would have about two hemorrhages apiece if I told anything pretty personal about them.”

Follow the adventures of young Holden Caulfield after he is expelled from a prep school, and decides to run away. He seeks out the right and wrong in life, and constantly rants of the phoniness of others. He describes his upbringing, his surroundings, his family, friends, and just life in general. From overlooking football games, to his mistakes, to the birds on a pond and why they migrate. It seems the only person he truly looks up to is his older brother, although he does adore his younger sister. He trusts no one, thinks every is full of it, and thinks of everyone as liars.  Full of rants and raves of a 16 year old boy lost in the world, it ends in quite the twist.

 

Personally, this is one of my all time favorites. Well written, attention-grabbing, and overall outstanding. But what else could be expected from Salinger, one of the world’s most mysterious writers? This is one I can read over and over and never get tired of.

Leave a comment

Filed under Action, Classic, Drama, Fiction

Leave a Reply

