Fireproof

BK1441368_l

Title: Fireproof

Author: Eric Wilson, Alex Kendrick , Stephen Kendrick

Series: No

Category: Religious / Drama / Romance

Length: 320 pages

Publisher: Thomas Nelson (September 2, 2008)

My Rating: 7/10

“Inside burning buildings, Captain Caleb Holt lives by the firefighters adage: Never leave your partner. Yet at home, in the cooling embers of his marriage, he lives by his own rules.”

Fireproof was instantly gripping. I made the mistake of beginning it at about 10p.m., and it was nearly 4 a.m. before I reached was able to stop. Not even coming to a point that I was willing to stop at, I finally couldn’t keep my eyes open.

This is the story of a firefighter that puts everything on the line for his job, but does a less than satisfactory job at being a husband. His wife, Catherine, is finally at her wits end. At first, Caleb is indignant and decides to give up. His father convinces him to follow a plan for forty days, and see what happens. The transformations that Caleb goes through are amazing. He finds faith in God, and every aspect of his life is changed.

It’s got great scenes (fire calls; two good structure fire scenes, one intense vehicle accident), amusing chatter (you’ll come to love Wayne and Terrell), and serious every-day issues that we all deal with at one point or another. It’s a very touching story.

Honestly, this book made me think about my own standing with God. And it gave me a new insight into marriage and relationships. I don’t think I’ll ever take another relationship so lightly. It really inspires thought and revelations. I’d definitely recommend it for anyone in a serious relationship, looking for inspiration, and definitely for married couples. Also a great read for firefighters, as I know we tend to have a more difficult time with relationships than most people.

Here’s a great quote from it: “Marriages aren’t fireproof. Sometimes you get burned.” “Fireproof doesn’t mean that a fire will never come, but that when it comes you’ll be able to withstand it.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Action, Drama, Religion, Romance

Leave a Reply

